top of page
Search

NE Build A Playlist #11 Taylor-Grace Mitchell



Hello, I’m Taylor-Grace, the lead singer and front woman for from Not Now Norman. Music has been important to me my whole life, and has helped me in so many ways. I have a wide range of music tastes but the ones that have influenced my vocal style the most are....


Guns N Roses - Appetite for Destruction

Track For Playlist: Welcome To The Jungle

Not many can stun their audience from their debut release, but Guns N Roses can. Everything about this album is pure fire and I live for it. The anger each instrument is clear and sets the stage for any first time listeners. They started in the age of Glam Rock and took the genre to a dark and sinister place and came up with something that sounds perfect to me. My Dad is a huge fan of Slash’s guitar work so I grew up to GnRs music and musically they have been a huge influence on my music.


My Chemical Romance : The Black Parade

Track For Playlist: Famous Last Words

Dramatics of Gerard Ways vocals always mesmerised me as a teenager. Growls and snarls felt fun to do whenever I listened to this track. It almost felt like singing a heavier Queen track. I would get so dramatic with my movements whenever I sang along to the track. I guess in some way, My Chemical Romance help influence my performance style through their sound. The flamboyancy and flair in the whole album was tough to beat when it was released. Seeing it played live was an experience I will never forget.


Joan Jett and The Black Hearts - Up Your Ally

Track For Playlist: I Hate Myself For Loving You

This woman changed music in ways that make it unrecognisable. I saw punk for the first time when I was thirteen and I thought it was the coolest thing I ever saw. I wanted to dress like one. My Mum being a punk when it first kicked off said to me ‘If you’re going to be a punk, you’re going to do it properly’. I had the hair dyed black and blonde and a change in wardrobe. She gave me some of her old punk albums and that’s when I was introduced to Joan Jett. I loved her vocals so much and everything about her just seemed pure. She just had this attitude where she was unapologetically herself and made the music that she wanted to make. And that has been a huge influence in the music I make.


P!NK - Mizunderstood

Track For Playlist: Just Like A Pill

When I was a kid, I grew up going in and out of hospital for surgeries a lot and there was this one nurse that I didn’t like. She was impatient whenever I asked to go to the toilet and my Mum thought she was very rude. I remember coming out of hospital a few days after the operation and my Mum was playing P!NKs ‘Mizunderstood’ album when the track ‘Just Like a Pill’ came on. The lyrics ‘I tried to call the nurse again but she’s a little b****’ made my ears perk. I remember that (paired with the track ‘Don’t let me get me’) was the first time I listened to the lyrics and understood them, whereas before they were just background noise.


Skunk Anansie : Paranoid and Sunburnt

Weak


Skins vocals are just perfect. Her voice is so melodic and angelic almost like a whisper, the way she sings is soft but she still commands attention. And when she has to belt, it only adds to the emotion of the track. I think she’s very emotive with her style which is what makes her music stand out for me. Weak is a huge example of this. Her soft spoken verses add vunerablilty to her already fragile lyrics, only to become more angry by the time the chorus hits. Her dynamics in vocal style take me on an emotional rollercoaster through the whole song. I don’t think I’ve heard a more powerful track in my life.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page