top of page
Search

Bass Interview #03 Olivia(Deep Sea Thieves)

Olivia(Deep Sea Thieves)

Firstly how long have you played the bass and what got you into it? I've actually only being playing the bass a few weeks longer than the band has been going, which is about 3 years now (if you count 2020). I've had a guitar since I was 12 and taught myself piano from 15 but I was always too shy to really get into anything properly. At the time I was living in a house share with our singer/guitarist Billy and I think he mentioned I should pick up the bass. I found a cheap one on gumtree and started playing. I was absolutely terrible and didn't know how to use a pick, but I was enjoying it and kept practicing. Billy had a few band projects that started and didn't work out, and after the last one he asked if I wanted to form a band. We started writing, found our drummer Jacob, and now we've got an album in the works!

What was the first song you learned to play on bass? I think years before I had my own bass my brother taught me to play Money by Pink Floyd. The first song I learnt properly was Longview by Green Day


Who are your top five favourite bass players? 1. Mike Dirnt - I have to put Mike at the top because I pretty much learnt to play by playing Green Day, and the basslines are always interesting. 2. Ben Kenney - I love Incubus and Ben Kenney is a god. 3. Carol Kaye - an absolute beast and a trailblazer. 4. D'Arcy Wretzky 5. Flea


If you could recommend any songs based on the bass line alone what would you pick Longview is a classic. Are you in? by Incubus.

What’s your favourite Deep Sea Thieves song to perform on bass? I can't say I really have a favourite! I look forward to every song in the set. We usually start with 'Wasting Time' which I always enjoy because it's punchy and the bassline is quite straightforward so it calms my nerves and them I'm just excited to play. I'd also have to say 'Here We Go Again' because it's quite bouncy and 'Build this World Together' is probably one of the basslines I'm most proud of. At this point I'm just looking forward to getting back on stage as soon as it's possible!

101 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page