top of page
Search

Bass Interviews #02 Tom(Leopard Rays)

Tom(Leopard Rays)

Photo - Connor Vettas-Young


What was the first song you learned to play on bass? As far as I can remember it was redundant by Green Day. I started out with quite simple stuff naturally, and within a few month I was playing tracks off an album called Emergency on Planet Earth by Jamiroquai. A record that slingshot me into bass life.


Who are your top five favourite bass players?

Straight up -

  1. Flea

  2. John Paul Jones

  3. Sergio Vega

  4. Andy Rourke

  5. Billy Cox


If you could recommend any songs based on the bass line alone what would you pick?

The Bay - Metronomy / Them Changes - Thundercat / Tits on the radio - Scissor Sisters / Don’t forget me - RHCP / Taxman - Beatles / Whodunit -Tavares / Mr Moon - Jamiroquai / Bound - Ponderosa Twins / One point perspective - Arctic Monkeys / Sponge State - Slutface / Hey - Pixies. I could be here for days mate.


What’s your favourite Leopard Rays song to perform on bass? Errrrr tough one. Right now I’ll take anything. Always love playing pass you by, quite please with my baseline for that. Get well into it. Although with a massive influx of new material I don’t even know if I’ll be able to convince the lads to keep in the set whenever we finally brace the stage again. So request it when we do please lad.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page