top of page
Search

Interview Adam From Famous Last Words

Updated: Jun 30, 2020



A little bit about Famous Last Words how did it get started? Famous Last Words was established in 2016. I’ve had a passion for live music since I was old enough to attend gigs, I started out writing my own music blog that snowballed into working with some fantastic writers in the local area and I found myself wanting to put my own gigs on. Initially I arranged a few free gigs under the blog name that I ran and found myself progressing wanting to put more shows on and become more of a promoter than a blogger. The main aim of FLW is to showcase the talent that North East has to offer.

You’ve been putting on gigs even before Famous Last Words. How much would you say the music scene had evolved over these years? The music scene seems to always be evolving for the better. More incredibly talented artists and hard-working promoters enter the scene as time goes on. Artists already established develop and grow. It’s a wonderful thing to see. This inspires me as a promoter, to continue to build events where said artists can perform. The support between artists and promoters is a huge positive to the music scene along with the amazing venues we have to make it happen.


What have been some of your favourite shows so far? Both The K's & The Lottery Winners headlining MUNRO over the last two years was fantastic and certainly a highlight for me personally. My sold out shows were also huge milestones for FLW; Heather Story at The Green Room in 2017. Both Michael Gallagher and Swilly Chill sold out their headline shows the following year, also at the Green Room.

For anyone who hasn’t been to your shows what would you say is to be expected? First of all it's a safe environment, I think that is key for anyone coming to a gig. On top of that I want to try and make sure that everyone goes away in a positive manner, that doesn't just include the audience that includes the artists as well, I want everyone walking away from a show knowing they've had a good night.




You work on a festival called Munro how do you feel the response had been to this festival? MUNRO is heading into the third year. From the get go, the response has been incredible, I didn't expect to have so much progression in terms of expanding it as quickly as it actually has been. 

The outline is to mix local talent with some of the up and coming bands in the national scene and making sure the audience attending have a day to remember.


You also work with Stockton Calling and had on one hell of a stage planned this year. Do you have any plans on working with any of the bands you had on in the future? In terms of Stockton Calling, I hope that I can involve all the original acts from this years line up on our stage. Stockton Calling is one of my favourite days to be involved in, so to have to wait to see that stage live is frustrating but also exciting at the same time because it's something I am certainly looking forward to.


Creatively how have you kept busy over the lockdown and what are your future plans? In terms of the plans through lockdown, I hosted two live stream festivals on the MUNRO page and also a few streams on the FLW page as well. There has also been takeovers on the FLW instagram as well, so it has been busy and I think it's been a fantastic way of learning different ways to promote music and reach audiences.

In terms of the future plans obviously it is all up in the air slightly due to COVID - 19. I know that I'm not the only one when I say this but I can wait to be putting on gigs again and dancing around to live music once again, how long we will have to wait is anyone's guess.


What advice would you give to someone wanting to get involved in the music scene? The main advice I'd give to anyone is talk to the people already involved in the scene as such. I think that's the best way of learning, even now I still pick the minds of people like Chris Cobain & Simon Shaw. It's an industry that in the last year especially, has had to adapt and evolve. 

Not every gig is going to sell out, you are going to have some shows where you think, why hasn't this worked? What could I have done better? You need to remember in an industry such as live music, you are going to have massive ups and downs. You just need to take things away from every gig you put on, what you did well, what could of been improved?  


If you could recommend five local acts who would it be? Ooo that's a tough one, I think there is a lot fantastic artists in the area.

If I did have to pick though, it would have to be, Be Quiet, Shout Loud!, Michael Gallagher, Jodie Nicholson, Komparrison and I know they aren't really local and it's pushing it to six artists and not five but I have to say Club Paradise and Plastic Glass as well.



Links

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page