top of page
Search

Interview - Jess McAllister

Updated: Feb 26, 2021


First I’ll ask who are your biggest musical influences? For songwriting it's Bob Dylan, Laura Marling, Regina Spektor. I listen to a very wide variety of music, I love Radiohead, Odetta, Randy Crawford, Nina Simone, Pink Floyd. At the moment I'm listening to This Is The Kit, Nao, Nai Palm, Crazy P, Billie Eilish. I also love house and drum and bass!

You released your album Courage/Fear during the first lockdown. How did you find that and how has the response been for the album? The responses have been really positive, but I didn't do much PR for it, I released it in a moment of madness! When you release music, the idea is to do months and months of PR beforehand so it gets into as many ears as possible.

You have a video coming out for the song The Bushiest of Beards. What can you tell us what to expect from the video. Expect a very colourful, joy filled revenge fest.





During the past year with lockdowns how else have you been keeping busy creatively? The last few weeks I've done a lot of writing, and I've been rehearsing with the band again (in a covid secure fashion!) which has been really positive. During the first lockdown I felt creatively pretty empty, but I painted plant pots and spent lots of time with my son. The video has been a fantastic creative outlet for me, putting all the colour schemes together, filming, editing, gathering content for the release. It's the first time I've run a PR campaign for something by myself, and I've actually really enjoyed it!


Do you have many plans on playing shows after the lockdown has been lifted?

I've begun tentatively discussing potential gigs... but when its 100% allowed I will do as many as I can humanly fit into my schedule!

If so, what would you tell people to expect from your live shows? I've been rehearsing with the band, and we've got loads of new material. Some of the tunes are a bit of a knees up, there's always lots of raw emotion and always laughter in between!


Finally if you could recommend five new acts right now who would you pick? I don't know whether these count as new... but new to me! Cleo Sol, Celeste, Biig Piig, Joy Crookes, Valerie June (These answers probably change from day to day!)




Links


Drawing - Sarah Binney




58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page