top of page
Search

NE Build A Playlist #03 Aaron Lythe

Updated: Mar 28, 2021


Photo - Kev Howard


Hiya, I’m Aaron. I’m an Event Manager and Promoter at Base Camp in Middlesbrough and I occasionally play bass. I’ve been attending gigs for around 17 years, starting with memories of being snuck into my Brother’s (Mal) 18+ gigs under my Dads t-shirt. I started promoting 11 years ago and have played in bands since I was 13. I think it’s fair to say I’ve always been surrounded by music and I love delving into my own mind to think about things like the tracks that have inspired these parts of my life…


Brendan James – The Day Is Brabe

Track For Playlist: Green

This track represents my first sentimental attachment to music. I came across this song on Myspace in 2007 and didn’t stop listening to it, I pre-ordered Brendan’s debut album there and then and have been hooked on him since. It was the first time that I felt like I had ‘discovered’ somebody that nobody else I knew listened to. I still listen to and preach about Brendan’s music to this day; I’ve been fortunate enough to travel to see him play live and meet him several times. He’s a positive guy with a positive message to spread through his music and I really admire that. This song also reminds me dead loads of my Mam who used to shout things like “Turn that sad shit off” but then would sing every word of every track even through the her Alzheimers she recognises this song,


Beastie Boys – Check Your Head

Track For Playlist: Gratitude

When I was younger my cousin David gave me and my brothers a sleeve of CD’s which included Blink-182, Tony Hawk Pro Skater soundtracks, Gorillaz and Beastie Boys. I’m pretty sure this shaped all of our tastes in some way. I remember being drawn to Beastie Boys’ attitude. Though I didn’t listen to them prominently for a few years, when I ventured into their catalogue, I was blown away by how their music could go from a rap track about drinking and having fun to a ‘balls to the wall’ Punk track. This inspired a lot of my outlook on what it meant to be in a band, to not limit yourself to genre and norms, to do what the hell you want to do and most importantly have fun. From my days In Bi:Lingual, I always tried my best to replicate this bass fuzz. RIP MCA.


Allusinlove – It’s Ok To Talk

Track For Playlist: Sunset Yellow

Speaking of my days In Bi:Lingual, those were my favourite days of playing music. Travelling with my best friends, making unforgettable memories and tearing it up on a stage wheter it was to 0 or 100 people. Those days would not have been the same if it wasn’t for our gigs with Allusondrugs (as they were known then). We could have played together every day in every town and it would never have gotten boring. Trying to match and keep up with their energy really helped us grow as a band and discover ourselves a little bit more. From our shows in Castleford to the main stage of Empire, there was inflatables, caved in ceilings, injuries and a fuck load of laughs.


Gender Roles – Lazer Rush

Track For Playlist: About Her


The sound of my 2019, Gender Roles played at the first Heelapalooza which really was the pinnacle of my work as a gig booker and promoter. It was the most fun I’ve had promoting something and where I’d consider to have broken out as a promoter. I got to book bands I love and showcase them on a side of town that has been underused for so long for live music. We had the UKs first No-Ring Deathmatch play out at Spensleys by the guys at RISE and I was roped in to refereeing. I got to work with my friends on putting it all together and even got to work with Keavey Gamwell for the first time. This is the first song in my mind when I play through it all in my head.


Pavement – Brighten The Corners: Nicene Creedence Ed

Track For Playlist Harness Your Hopes

I’ve included this purely because it is everything I love about music. Pavement are one of my favourite bands, they don’t fit the standard of what it means to be an indie band, they’re irreverent and generally just fucking loads of fun. As sentimental, inspiring and emotional as music can be, it’s important to sometimes just enjoy it.

89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page