top of page
Search

NE Build A Playlist #05 Alice Rose Victoria Nicholson


Hi my name’s Alice. By day I’m a carer and by night I’m a musician. I duet as Rose Bush, and I’ve picked these albums that are inspiring me and our music. We are currently working on a concept album, inspired by the COVID 19 pandemic. My playlist showcases our influences, ranging from progressive rock to synth pop.


Lady Gaga - Born This Way

Track For Playlist - Heavy Metal Lover

Of course, my first choice had to be Lady Gaga. I’ve always enjoyed an album with a strong message. Not only is Born This Way about LGBTQ rights and racial equality, but also about being able to express yourself creatively. Heavy Metal Lover is my favourite song on the album, and one of my top Gaga songs. The experimental production is a big inspiration for me and the sounds that I am trying to create within my own work. I am inspired by the layered guitars and electronic sounding synths.


Kraftwerk - Trans Europe Express

Track For Playlist - The Hall Of Mirrors

I’m really into 70’s music, and Kraftwerk pioneered the use of technology within popular music. They were the first to bring in the analogue waves and bubble sounds. Their use of sequenced rhythms and manipulated vocals are perhaps more relevant than their previous work. The album I am working on now draws heavily from the foundations laid down by Kraftwerk, and Trans Europe Express showcases their groundbreaking talent perfectly.


Miley Cyrus - Plastic Hearts

Track For Playlist - Midnight Sky

Miley Cyrus has always been a controversial figure for me. I loved watching her grow up in Hannah Montana, but by her wild "Bangerz" era, I thought that she was completely bizarre. Right now, I feel like Miley has found herself in Plastic Hearts. Her punk rock, glam rock vibes are what I’m rooting for. She seems comfortable with being misunderstood. I love how Miley has stepped back in time with confidence; drawing from the rock gods of the past to shape her music and style. This is most evident on Midnight Sky.


Pink Floyd - The Wall

Track For Playlist - Another Brick In The Wall

The Wall is a big influence for me right now, the familiar refrains tie the whole piece together. This is something that we are working to incorporate within our own album. Dave Gilmour's unmistakably smooth guitar solos take things to another level. Another Brick In The Wall is a song everybody loves and will get a whole room singing.


Anne Marie - Speak Your Mind

Track For Playlist - Machine

Speak Your Mind is definitely one of my top albums. Anne Marie is a big influence on my straight to the point writing style. I enjoy her urban vibes, and her clean and contemporary voice. Machine's dystopian electronic vibe, combined with that catchy retro-pop effect, demonstrates a lot of what I am trying to instill into my work.


Rose Bush’s “Indigo” will start to unravel this year!

110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page