top of page
Search

NE Build A Playlist #06 Paige Livingstone




I'm Paige Livingstone and I'm a local collage artist and cartoon illustrator. I am a graduate of the Northern School of Art and I am currently working on curating Female focused art exhibitions as co creator of Let Us Eat Cake!

Kate Bush - Never For Ever

Track For Playlist - Violin

I remember being introduced to Kate Bush around 12 years old introduced to me by my dad who came home with a cd after having the record as a kid. The first thing that grabbed me as a child was that front cover album art I remember being obsessed with it and was determined to like who ever that artist was when I seen it. I didn't have ti try hard to fall in love with Kate and this album in particular introduced me to a world of feminism and politically underlined music. We have anti war tracks in the hauntingly sweet lullabyesque 'Army Dreamers', a Kill Bill style woman scorned in 'The Wedding List' and of course the iconic 'Babooshka'.

My favourite of the whole album though has got to be Violin just for the sheet energy of it all. I love how Kate is like a woman possessed absolutely buzzing off...a violin!


Hole - Celebrity Skins

Track For Playlist - Malibu

Obviously as a hormonal walking sack of teen angst and misplaced anger at least one Hole album is going to make the list and this one is definitely the one I remember blasting in my bedroom the most in between slamming my bedroom door off the hinges (soz mam).


The titular track is unbelievable and I also like a little self loathing but secrefly self loving jam to Awful. However the piece de resistance has got to be Malibu again just for its moody nostalgia vibe. It was my favourite back then and still probably is. Dreamy deadbeat teenage garbage AF.


P.S Courtney is innocent


Bongwater - Too Much Sleep

Track For Playlist

I remember coming across Bongwater randomly on one of those music seeking binges I think everyone goes through a phase of when we are young and fresh to the world (now I'm old and just listen to my knees creak in time to the old favourites) . They are a really weird not always great late 80s/ early 90s college band and the best way to describe them would be as sound collage artists. The song I loved most on this album has got to be the drum, the video is great aswell anyone interested I suggest you search on YouTube. Anyway I love this song and it makes me want to do DMT and dance with dinosaurs and witches at stonehenge or something.


Cocorosie - Noahs Ark

Track For Playlist - Beautiful Boys

I honestly wish I had never heard of Cocorosie just so I could rediscover Cocorosie for the first time. Their personal story is crazy and worth looking up but their music is just a crazy melting pot of electronic, folk, blues , opera and trip hop.Their voices are hauntingly beautiful like sirens from the Ether. Please if anyone takes anything away from this list its this band. This album in particular has some gorgeous tracks my favourits being Tekno Love Song, K- Hole but my favourite being Beuatiful Boyz. A collaboration with Antony (Antony & the Johnsons. This melancholic love song speaks of tragedy and shouts loud against voilence and persecution against LGBT people. Powerful stuff and gorgeous on the ears.


Lovage - Mike Patton And Jennifer Charles

Track For Playlist - Anger Management

This is such a steamy and sexy collaboration that still somehow manages to be kind of cheeky and funny. Porduced by dan the automator theres not a weak track on the album but I've pciked Anger Management cos I fucking need some more after the shit show of this last year. Stroker Ace and strangers on a train are also top notch x

86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page