top of page
Search

The Partypool List


So what is Partypool? It’s a fun way of saying Hartlepool. What is the Partypool list? Well it’s a small list of musical acts from Hartlepool that I think you should check out. Why? Well over the years of me going to gigs I have noticed that the many great acts that come from the little town of Hartlepool. Many of them have featured on some of my playlists that I post on this very blog. I can tell you on thing it was very hard picking only five of them. But I did and here is my list. Enjoy



5 Mt. Misery

A act who will more than likely shine after lockdown is over. The bands nice and chilled sound has really caught the ears of the local music scene over the few years. The type of music you can listen to on a nice sunny day with a few drinks or a cold day with a flask of coffee the vibe the bands music hits every single spot. Check them out when when you can because they certainly will put a smile on your face.

4 Marketplace

I first saw the band Marketplace at a gig that I was also playing for the band Dark Passenger. The gig was in The Georgian Theatre and Marketplace were the opening act. It was on Stockton Surf weekend so a part of me was asking if Marketplace was a band or were they setting up an actual Marketplace before the bands started. It turns out it was indeed a band who played a decent of with quite a few covers Of bands like Wolf Alice. But everytime that I have seen them since they have got better and better. The three singles released by the band have been regulars on my Spotify over the past few years. With lockdown coming to an end these are one band I’m certainly looking forward to seeing more of and how they continue to progress.

3 Leopard Rays

The last band I saw before the latest lockdown. For me Leopard Rays music captures the spirit of Brit Pop from the 90’s and gives it a modern kick. Music filled with catchy hooks and killer guitar riffs they are guaranteed to put on an awesome show where ever they play. They are the last band I saw perform at Stockton Calling after they got the headline slot last minute and absolutely smashed every second of the set and made the most of the opportunity. I’ll be expecting to see these on the line up on many festivals to come.


2 Venus Grrrls

Yes the band Venus Grrrls are based in Leeds but they have one member from Hartlepool. Keyboard player Grace who also writes and performs music under the name Gra4ce. The band have been absolutely killing it over the past few years playing shows all over the country and releasing single after single. Going forward I don’t think there’s any slowing these down once they can get going again. If you’re from Hartlepool you’ll be able to watch one of the most exciting upcoming bands in the country and say “She’s from Hartlepool her“ whilst shes doing her self and the music scene of Hartlepool proud.


1, Charlotte Grayson

2019 was the last full year of live music that before the lockdowns started. During that year I don’t think I saw anyone perform more than I did Charlotte Grayson. I think I actually know the lyrics to all of her songs that this point. She’s a very good story teller in her music. Filled with Charisma, Attitude and all kinda of emotions Charlotte has really found the sound that she’s looking for and it comes out in every single performance. Her debut album was a solid mix of Indie, Country and Pop music. Another act I’ll be expecting to see more of over the next few years after lockdown has ended.


So that’s my list I hope yoI enjoyed it. Below is a list to each bands Spotify page

Enjoy

112 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page